faq's marriage in Massachusetts
Q. How do I apply for a marriage license?
A. According to Massachusetts law, you must jointly file intentions to marry with the city or town clerk in any community in the state.
Q. Is there a waiting period?
A. Yes there is a mandatory three day waiting period.
Q. May we marry before the three day waiting period?
A.Yes if you obtain a court waiver.
Q. Is a blood test required?
A. No - a blood test is no longer required.
Q. Is it necessary to have witnesses present at the ceremony?
A. Massachusetts statute does not require that witnesses be present at your ceremony.
Q. At what age may a couple marry?
A. Massachusetts residents may marry if they are 18 years of age or older.
Q. How long is a marriage license valid?
A. A marriage license, once obtained, is valid for 60 days from the date intentions are filed and may be used in any city or town in the Commonwealth.
Q. How does one become a justice of the peace?
A. A justice of the peace is appointed by the Governor for a seven year term and confirmed by the Governors Council. Each city/town is allowed one justice for every 5000 residents.
Q. How will I know if there is a vacancy in my town?
A. You can check with the Secretary of State’s Office to see if there is a vacancy in your town.